Italian Meatballs

 

 

Italian Meatballs just like Nana’s

My grandmother and all of her sisters were straight off the boat from Italy. Born in Southern Italy in 1906, her five sisters and aunt came to the United States when she was just a toddler. They settled into East Boston. No one had a lot of money then. They all worked long hours for little pay. my nana worked in a chocolate factory as a chocolate dipper. Mmmm, I remember those tasty treats she would come home with, she would call them her “mistakes”. Sometimes I think she made “mistakes” on purpose so she could fill the freezer with tasty chocolate treats! Anyway…one of the first recipes I ever learned from my grandmother..(and one of my favorites to make as well) were her Italian meatballs.  Tasty, moist and flavorful…I always get compliments on these.  I choose to bake my meatballs as opposed to frying, but you can do either.  Served with Homemade italian sauce..(yes sauce I said, not gravy!) and your favorite pasta, these are to die for delicious!! And fun to make!

1 pound hamburger and 1/2 pound ground pork
2 eggs, beaten with 1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup grated Parmesan or pecorino romano cheese
1 cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs
1 small onion, minced or grated (1/2 a large onion)
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon salt
freshly ground pepper to taste
1/4 cup minced fresh flat-leaf parsley or basil ( I use a handful of fresh parsley chopped) A little red wine to taste!

Preheat oven to 350. Beat eggs with milk and wine into a bowl. Add breadcrumbs, cheese, garlic, onion, salt, pepper, oregano, parsley and basil and mix with a fork.   Add ground beef and ground pork and mix all together. Dont over mix.  Form into balls and place onto a greased cookie sheet.  Brush meatballs with olive oil and bake at 350 degrees for 20 to 30 min. Finish cooking in Italian sauce. Serve over your favorite pasta!

One thought on “Italian Meatballs

Leave a Reply

